如何选择澳大利亚专利代理人

与其他类型的专业人士一样, 每一位专利代理人的强项以及代理所的能力各不相同。在本文中,我列出了选择专利代理人时需要考虑的8个要点。

1。选择精通您的技术领域的专利代理人

尽管许多专利代理人声称自己是技术通才,但实际上真正通才的代理人很少。 澳大利亚专利代理人的技术专业化通常来自以下各项:

  • 他们的技术资格(即他们所研究的工程或科学领域);
  • 他们工作所在的技术领域;
  • 他们服务的客户所在的行业;
  • 他们个人最感兴趣的领域,除了他们的角色之外,所以阅读和研究; 和
  • 他们在您的技术领域工作的年资。

2。选择拥有三位以上代理人的知识产权公司

对于大多数客户来说这个要点是直观的。但令人惊讶的是,许多发明家没有意识到与单一从业者或小型代理公司合作的缺点 – 他们因为某种原因而收费相对便宜。

虽然小公司的许多代理人都完全可以胜任工作,但小公司往往缺乏管理和更新多个司法管辖区的专利,商标和注册设计流程所需的系统。 其原因在于,流程涉及法规和期限不断更改,这要求系统也跟着及时更改。 如果系统记录得不到更新而导致错过了最后期限,这很可能意味着知识产权永久丧失。 因此,与缺乏足够资源保持系统最新的代理公司合作存在一定风险。

若与唯一的从业者合作,他们可能会因某些不可控因素,例如健康问题,使得他们负责的申请风险。假如您管理申请的代理人患了严重疾病而失去工作能力,您的知识产权管理会发生什么? 我们遇到单独从业者因生病而导致客户权利失效的案例。

3。选择可以通过除专业知识以外的知识,技能或人脉关系增值的专利代理人

专利代理人通常拥有他们非常了解的其他领域(除了专利)。 例如,在我们公司,我们的代理人也在其他国家(如美国和中国)注册或执业过。我们还拥有在许可,商业化或融资方面经验丰富的代理人。请记住向您的代理人了解他们可能对您的项目提供哪些额外技能或知识帮助。 他们还能怎样帮助你?

4。选择一家可以提供知识产权维权的公司

与您的专利代理人一起,拥有经验丰富的知识产权和/或商业律师非常重要,他们可以帮助您起草法律协议并提供其他法律建议。 在为您的专利维权或为侵权诉讼辩护时,拥有一位了解您的专利并与您的专利代理人合作的律师会使您的案子更顺利。 参与到专利维权的事务,还能为代理人提供了独特而有用的专利起草视角,有助于他们能够起草更强大的专利申请,这些专利申请可以经受法院诉讼期间的审查。

5。选择有商业连接的公司

一些专业人员在一些真空中工作,他们对他们的客户不是很有帮助。 其他专利代理人拥有广泛的公司或资本联系网络,开发专业人员和其他顾问,他们可以帮助您的发明走上市场。无论帮助您获得研发税收抵免,还是可以帮助您改善产品工业设计,为什么不选择能提供您所需要的代理公司呢?

6。选择一位受客户喜爱的专利代理人

如果专利代理人的客户满意度高,那么你对其的工作质量也更有信心! 你如何知道你正在考虑的专利代理人客户满意度如何? 两个提示:

  1. 查询该公司的谷歌评级 – 他们是4星还是5星?
  2. 公司的净推荐者得分(NPS),或者他们甚至测量它?

7。选择一家拥有IPTA成员的知识产权公司

IPTA(澳大利亚专利和商标代理人协会)是澳大利亚专利和商标代理人的专业机构。 IPTA的成员员通常在澳大利亚知识产权专业中受到高度重视,并且必须在注册后至少有5年的经验。

8。选择提供固定费用定价的知识产权公司

没有人愿意与按小时收费的代理人合作。每小时收费会使您的项目预算变得困难,并且很容易导致成本超支。许多公司现在都在使用固定费用定价模式,考虑与这些公司合作绝对符合您的利益。

How to Choose an Australian Patent Attorney

Like any other type of professional, the primary and secondary skills of individual patent attorneys vary, along with the capability of their firm. In this article I outline 8 things to consider when choosing your patent attorney.

1. Choose a patent attorney who specialises in your technology area

Although many patent attorneys claim to be technology generalists, very few actually are. An Australian patent attorney’s technology specialisation generally derives from a mix of:

  • their technical qualification (i.e. what field of engineering or science they studied in);
  • the technology area they have been working in;
  • the clients they have been working for;
  • the areas they are personally most interested in and so read about and study in addition to their role; and
  • how many years they have worked in your technology area.

2. Choose an intellectual property firm that has more than 3 attorneys

This is intuitive for most clients but it’s amazing how many inventors don’t consider the downsides of working with a sole practitioner or small firm – they are cheaper for a reason.

Whilst many attorneys at small firms are completely competent, it is extremely difficult for a small firm to operate the systems required to manage and update patent, trademark and registered design processes in multiple jurisdictions. The reason for this is that the processes involve rules and deadlines which change regularly across jurisdictions requiring systems to be updated. If a system is not up-to-date and a deadline is missed, sometimes there is no way to restore the intellectual property right. So it’s risky to work with a firm that doesn’t have sufficient resources to keep their systems up-to-date.

There is also the obvious and unfortunate risk when working with a sole practitioner that something might happen to them, for example they become ill. Most people have some serious illness at some point in their lives and what happens to the management of your intellectual property if that happens? We’ve seen cases where sole practitioners have become ill and client rights have lapsed as a result.

3. Choose a patent attorney who can add value with their secondary knowledge, skills or connections

Patent attorneys often have secondary areas (aside from patents) that they are very knowledgeable about. For example, in our firm, we have attorneys who are also registered or have been registered to practice in other countries (e.g. USA and China). We also have attorneys who are experienced in licensing, commercialisation or capital raising. Remember to ask your attorneys which other skills or knowledge they have that might be helpful to your project. How else can they help you?

4. Choose a firm that can provide enforcement of your intellectual property

Alongside your patent attorney, it’s important to have a lawyer to hand who can help you draft legal agreements and provide other legal advice. It’s very helpful if your patent attorney can ‘go to the next office’ and discuss various legal aspects of your matter with an ‘in-house’ lawyer. When it comes to enforcing your patent or defending an infringement suit, it’s much easier to have a lawyers who is already knows and has worked with your patent attorney. Being involved in the enforcement of patents also provides attorneys with a unique and helpful perspective on the drafting of patents, enabling them to consider angles around how they will be considered in court that a patent attorney might not always consider.

5. Choose a firm that is commercially connected

Some professionals work in a bit of a vacuum and they aren’t very helpful to their clients. Other patent attorneys have extensive networks of corporate or capital contacts, development professionals and other consultants who can help you along the path to market. Whether it’s a professional to help you with an R&D tax credit or someone who can help you improve the industrial design of your product, why not choose an attorney who has the connections you need?

6. Choose a patent attorney who is liked by their clients

If the clients of a patent attorney are happy with him/her it’s much more likely you will be too! How can you know whether the patent attorney you are considering has happy clients? Two tips: 1. Check the google rating of the firm – are they 4 or 5 stars? 2. What is the net promoter score (NPS) of the firm or do they even measure it?

7. Choose an IP firm that has principals who are fellows of IPTA

IPTA (The Institute of Patent & Trade Mark Attorneys of Australia) is the professional body for patent and trade mark attorneys in Australia. Fellows of IPTA are normally highly regarded within the Australian IP profession and must have at least 5 years experience post registration.

8. Choose an IP firm that offers fixed fee pricing

No-one wants to work with an attorney who charges by the hour. Hourly charging makes it difficult to budget for your project and can easily lead to cost over-runs. Many firms now work on a fixed fee pricing model and it’s definitely in your interest to consider working with one of them.