如何成为专利代理人

专利是由政府赋予专利所有人的专有权,这种特权用于防止其他人在已授予专利的国家或地区进行关于专利主体的制造,使用或出售。该专利授予的垄断期一般是自专利申请日起20年。

专利代理人负责撰写和提交专利申请。 并且在专利和商标局(知产局)等组织保护客户和发明人的专利权利。专利代理人的工作性质要求很细致并且会涉及起草和论证专利文件的有效性的工作,其中每个单词的含义都将决定个性化的垄断保护。

成为专利代理人的要求

要成为包括澳大利亚在内的众多国家的专利代理人,您必须首先获得工程或科学领域的技术本科学位,然后您需要获得相关的知识产权法律资格和经验。

您是否可以仅凭法律学位成为专利代理人?

不能,仅凭法律学位不足以成为专利代理人。专利代理人要求对专利领域的技术有深入理解,并且需要接受关于知识产权法的培训并从而获得足够实践经验。

如何成为专利代理人

成为专利代理人的最佳方式是完成一门科学或工程学科的本科学位,然后修读法律(或特别是知识产权法)的研究生学历。 除了对您所学的技术领域感兴趣之外,您还需要善于法律论证,具有说服力,并且细心。作为专利代理人,您还应具有强烈的商业意识,以便您能够理解并为客户提供足以支持业务目标的建议。

专利代理人的报酬

跟其他职业一样,专利代理人的工资和福利因职位,经验水平和地区而异。 根据知识产权招聘公司专利代理人工作委员会2016年度调查,实习专利代理人的工资从50,500澳元到80,000澳元不等,薪酬随着经验的增长而上升,如下所示。 专利代理人事务所的受薪合伙人可以赚取高达200,000澳元,股权合伙人可以达到30万澳元甚至更高。新南威尔士州和维多利亚州的薪资水平通常较高,而南澳和西澳的专利代理人薪酬水平相对较低。

执业年资薪酬范围(澳元)
< 2$65,000 – $100,000
2 – 5$90,000 – $130,000
5 – 10$100,000 – $180,000+
10+$125,000 – $200,000+

在外国从事专利代理人工作

在德国,荷兰,法国和英国等国家,通过欧洲资格考试(EQEs)的候选人并成为欧洲专利代理人的数量日益增加 。私有和上市专利代理人事务所也逐渐聘请来自不同司法管辖区,如英联邦和欧洲,的专利代理人以满足服务的需求。

为什么要成为专利代理人

作为专利代理人,您可以通过帮助发明人获得和保护发明的专有权,使他们的付出获得相应的回报。

专利代理人的任务是评估发明是否具有创新性和新颖性,并确定哪些发明有资格申请专利。经过专门培训的专利代理人,不仅可以起草专利申请,他们还必须具备知识产权法律知识,以便引导企业和发明人从专利保护走向商业化。并且在他们的权利受到侵犯时,采取适当行动保护发明人的合法权益。

专利代理人的责任

专利代理人的职责是:

  • 使用准确的语言,按照正确的格式为技术,工程,和科学发明撰写详细技术描述。
  • 通过撰写专利权利要求,为专利界定法定专有权的涵盖范围。
  • 确保不遗漏任何提交,审查和续展期限。
  • 及时更新了解您所在司法辖区乃至其他主要司法管辖区的知识产权法律发展。
  • 与发明人和被许可人一同讨论客户的发明和专利流程。
  • 专利维权和捍卫。 在某些国家,包括澳大利亚在内,专利维权是通过与专利代理人和大律师的密切合作完成的。
  • 培养和辅导实习专利代理人。

专利代理人的日常工作生活

建议专利代理人在团队里面多与他们的可学习对象分享自己的观点和想法。 专利代理人的工作有时会压力很大,他们或许需要在很短的时间内处理许多不同的专利申请,或者需要赶在专利过程中的各种不灵活的期限之前完成工作。 尽管专利代理人的职业工作范围相对狭窄,但它是一份具有出色前景的职业。正如在其他职业一样,新的学员在这个职业中获得立足点总是具有挑战性。 在世界的某些地方,如英国,美国和法国,竞争激烈,鼓励新的学员申请区域职位。 专利代理人的大部分工作都是以办公室为基础的,但他们出差与客户会面的情况并不少见,特别是单独从业者。

成为专利代理人需要的技能

专利代理人需要具备以下技能:

  • 鉴于控法定期限对专利申请的重要性,要求专利代理人必须高度的勤奋和对细节的关注。
  • 具备与团队成员和专利局等外部各方的良好沟通能力和书面技能,因为专利申请往往需要复杂概念的沟通。
  • 了解您的理工科技术领域的技术和科学原理。
  • 能够简明扼要地方式表达复杂的技术思想。
  • 工作量管理技能,因为专利代理人通常需要在特定的时间内管理数百个案例的组合。

专利代理人的雇主

专利代理人的雇主主要是大型工业企业和私有执业公司。 雇用专利代理人的工业企业涉及广泛的创新领域,包括汽车,工业加工设备,食品,医疗设备,制药和生物技术。 私有执业公司通常在其网站上设有招聘页面,求职的专利代理人可以从而查看相关职位的招聘广告,公司规模及其涵盖的技术领域。如果您是实习专利代理人,您最好选择申请有涉及您的技术领域的专利代理人事务所,因为这样更容易吸引雇主的兴趣。

专利代理人的专业发展

为了保持专利代理人的专业资格 ,代理人必须每年在各国家和地区进行持续的专业从业进修。为此,您可以参加有关知识产权法或专利工作的网络研讨会和实地研讨会。此类研讨会可由国家专利代理人协会或其他相关组织举办。

如何成为没有法律学位的专利代理人

在一些国家,包括澳大利亚,加拿大和美国,您可以作为专利代理人工作,而无需成为律师。 在澳大利亚,“专利代理人”也被称为“专利律师”,因此在比较各个司法管辖区的职位时存在混淆。 尽管如此,专利代理人仍需要具有工程或科学学士学位,并且完成其辖区内所需的相关知识产权法课程。 根据司法管辖区规定,可能还需要在注册专利代理人知道下工作以获得相当实践经验。 如在澳大利亚,您将需要在已注册的澳大利亚专利代理人的指导下工作满两年,并满足注册资格足5年才能注册成为专利代理人。

如何同时成为澳大利亚和新西兰的专利代理人

自2017年2月起,澳大利亚和新西兰的专利代理人已有同一的监管制度。 注册的跨塔斯曼专利代理人可以同时在这两个国家执业。要成为澳大利亚或新西兰的注册专利代理人 ,您必须满足跨塔斯曼知识产权委员会的以下要求:

  • 在可专利主题的技术领域拥有澳大利亚资格(AQF)或新西兰资格(NZQF)的5级(或以上)资格,或来自海外机构的同等资格,
  • 完整的认证课程规定的科目:
    • 法律程序和知识产权概述
    • 职业操守
    • 商标法
    • 商标实务
    • 专利法
    • 专利制度
    • 起草专利说明书
    • 专利说明书的解释和有效性
    • 外观设计法
  • 性格良好。
  • 在过去五年期间连续两年或累计两年担任以下职位:
    • 搜索专利记录
    • 准备,提交和起诉专利申请
    • 起草专利说明书
    • 就专利的解释,有效性和侵权提供建议

如何成为加拿大的专利代理人

要成为加拿大的注册专利代理人,您需要:

  • 在为期四天的时间内完成一系列四项资格考试。
  • 在您注册考试之前,您必须具有至少24个月的专利法和实践领域的实践经验,其中至少有12个月在加拿大工作。 要获得作为专利代理人实习职位,您将需要获得科学或工程学位。

如何成为英国的专利代理人

要获得英国专利代理人资格,您必须满足以下要求:

  • 通过英国专利审查委员会制定的考试。 有两个级别的考试 – 你必须通过基础水平考试,然后在第二年进入终极考试。
  • 要有资格参加基础考试,您必须拥有英国机构(或海外同等学历)颁发的科学,技术,工程或数学科目的学位。
  • 大多数考生在参加考试之前都会接受合格专利代理人的在职培训。

如何成为欧洲专利代理人

要成为欧洲专利代理人,您必须参加欧洲资格考试(EQE)。 但是,在您有资格参加此考试之前,您必须:

  • 拥有合适的理工学术背景,如大学理学或技术/工程学位。
  • 在合资格人员的监督下,在欧洲专利行业从事工作满3年。
  • 通过预审文件。

如何成为美国的专利代理人

要成为美国注册专利代理人,您必须满足以下要求:

  • 获准在美国境内至少一个州执业。
  • 拥有足够的技术和科学背景,以便您能够充分了解客户的发明。
  • 通过用于测试考生对专利发布程序的理解的专利代理人考试。
  • 具有良好的道德品质和声誉。

如果您不是代理人但符合其他要求 – 即您持有科学或工程学科的资格并且已成功通过专利代理人考试 – 您可以成为专利代理人 。 作为专利代理人,您可以向USPTO准备,提交和起诉专利申请,但在涉及州或联邦法院的任何法律诉讼中,您不能代表客户或提供任何法律建议。

注意:如果您正在寻求有关如何成为加利福尼亚州专利代理人的信息 ,其要求与上述相同。 

如何成为南非的专利代理人

在南非担任专利代理人,您必须:

  • 完成技术或科学学位或文凭或同等可替代资格。
  • 在指定的南非大学获得的法律学位(LLB)。
  • 通过南非专利审查委员会制定的法定考试。 在参加考试之前,强烈建议您在专利代理人事务所或公司和知识产权委员会获得三到六个月的经验。

How to Become a Patent Attorney

A patent is a government granted monopoly that provides the owner of the patent the exclusive right to prevent others from making, using or selling an invention the subject of the patent in any country in which the patent has been granted. The typical term for the monopoly granted by the patent is 20 years from the original filing date of a patent application.

Patent attorneys are responsible for writing and filing patent applications. It is also their duty to protect the rights of their clients, the inventors and their patents, before organisations such as Patent and Trademark Offices (PTO). The work of a patent attorney is meticulous by nature and involves preparing and then arguing the validity of patent documents, where the meaning of each word can count towards determining individualised monopolies of protection.

Requirements to Become a Patent Attorney

In order to become a patent attorney in most countries, including Australia, you must first obtain a technical undergraduate degree in a field of engineering or science, then you need to obtain relevant qualifications and experience in intellectual property law.

Can you become a patent attorney solely with a law degree?

No, a law degree alone will not qualify you to become a patent attorney. Patent attorneys require in-depth technical understanding of a patentable field as well as specific training and experience in intellectual property law.

How to Become a Patent Attorney

The best way to become a patent attorney is to complete an undergraduate degree in a hard science or engineering subject, followed by a postgraduate qualification in law (or specifically intellectual property law). In addition to having an interest in the technical fields you studied in, you should also have a passion for legal argument, be persuasive, and possess an eye for detail. As patent attorney you should also have strong commercial awareness, so that you can understand and support the business objectives of your clients.

Remuneration for a Patent Attorney

Just like in any other career, the salaries and benefits of being a patent attorney vary with the position you hold, your experience level and your location. According to the 2016 annual survey by IP recruitment firm the Patent Attorney Job Board, salaries for trainee patent attorneys range from AUD 50,500 – AUD 80,000 p.a., with remuneration increasing as experience grows, as shown below. Salaried partners in patent attorney firms can earn as much as AUD 200,000, with equity partners achieving up to AUD 300,000 or higher. The higher salary ranges are typically seen in NSW and Victoria, while patent attorneys in SA and WA tend to receive lower levels of remuneration.

No. of years’ experience Remuneration range (AUD)
< 2 $65,000 – $100,000
2 – 5 $90,000 – $130,000
5 – 10 $100,000 – $180,000+
10+ $125,000 – $200,000+

Working Abroad as a Patent Attorney

In countries such as Germany, the Netherlands, France and the UK, there has been an increase in the number of candidates that are passing the European Qualifying Examination (EQEs) in order for them to become European patent attorneys. Private and public patent law firms are accepting and employing patent attorneys from different jurisdictions such as the Commonwealth and Europe in order to keep up with the demand for their services.

Why You Should Become a Patent Attorney

As a patent attorney you can ensure that inventors receive fair compensation for their efforts, by helping them to secure and protect exclusive rights to profit from their invention for a period of time.

Patent attorneys are tasked with assessing whether inventions are innovative and new, and determining which inventions are eligible for patenting. Patent attorneys are specially trained to draft patent applications and have to be equipped with knowledge of intellectual property law so that they can lead companies and inventors through the required process of obtaining their patents and commercialising their inventions. They also act to protect inventors when their rights are infringed.

Responsibilities of a Patent Attorney

The responsibilities of a patent attorney are to:

  • Write detailed technical / engineering / scientific descriptions of inventions using very exact language in the proper formats.
  • Write patent claims to define the legal scope and variations of the monopoly conferred by the patent when it is granted.
  • Ensure that the filing, examination and renewal related deadlines of IP rights are met.
  • Stay up to date with legal developments in the intellectual property field in your jurisdiction and other major jurisdictions.
  • Discuss a client’s inventions and the patent processes with inventors and licensees.
  • Enforce and defend patents. In some countries, including Australia, this is done by working closely with barristers and solicitors.
  • Mentor and tutor trainee patent attorneys.

The Day to Day Working Life of a Patent Attorney

It is advisable for a patent attorney to be part of a team with whom they can share views and perspectives and from who they can learn. The work can involve a lot of pressure at times, as a result either of working on many different patent applications within a short space of time, or of needing to meet inflexible deadlines that arise during the patent process. Although the career of a patent attorney is traditionally quite narrow in terms of scope of work, it has excellent career prospects. As in every profession, it is always challenging for a new trainee to gain a foothold in the profession. In some parts of the world, such as the UK, US and France, competition is fierce and new trainees are encouraged to apply for regional positions. The majority of a patent attorney’s work is office-based, but it is not uncommon for them to travel to meet with clients, particularly if they are sole practitioners.

Skills Needed to Become a Patent Attorney

Patent attorneys need to have the following skill sets:

  • A high level of diligence and attention to detail, as accurate monitoring of legal deadlines is crucial.
  • Excellent communication and written skills with both team members and external parties such as patent offices, as the communication of complex concepts is often required.
  • An understanding of technological and scientific principles in the relevant fields of technology you are practising in.
  • The ability to express technical ideas that are complex in a concise and exact manner.
  • Workload management skills, as patent attorneys are normally managing a portfolio of several hundred cases at any given point in time.

Employers of Patent Attorneys

The main types of employers for patent attorneys are large industrial companies and private practice firms. Industrial companies that employ patent attorneys vary across a wide range of innovative fields, including automotive, industrial processing equipment, food, medical devices, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology. Private practice firms often have career pages on their websites that patent attorneys seeking employment can view to find out about positions being advertised, or about the size of the firm and the technology areas they cover. If you are a trainee patent attorney, you would generally do best to apply to patent attorney firms that practice in the technology area you are trained in, as they are more likely to be interested in you.

Professional Development for a Patent Attorney

To maintain registration as a qualified patent attorney, attorneys must, in most countries, undertake continuing professional development each year. To do this, you can attend webinars and seminars on intellectual property law or on patent work. Such seminars may be organised by either a national Institute of Patent Attorneys or other relevant organisations.

How to Become a Patent Attorney without a Legal Degree

In some countries, including Australia, Canada and the United States you can work as a patent agent without ever being required to become an attorney-at-law. In Australia, a ‘patent agent’ is also known as a ‘patent attorney’, hence the confusion in comparing job titles across jurisdictions. Nonetheless, a patent agent still needs to have an engineering or scientific bachelor qualification and have studied the relevant intellectual property law course required in their jurisdiction. Depending on jurisdiction, some practical experience working under a registered patent attorney may also be required. In Australia, you will require two years of practical experience working under the supervision of a qualified Australian patent attorney with at least 5 years post qualification experience.

How to Become a Patent Attorney in Australia and New Zealand

Since February 2017 there has been a single regulatory regime for patent attorneys in Australia and New Zealand. Registered trans-Tasman patent attorneys can practice in both countries. To become a registered patent attorney in Australia or New Zealand, you must meet the following requirements of the Trans-Tasman IP Board:

  • Have a Level 5 (or higher) qualification under the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) or the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF), or an equivalent qualification from an overseas institution, in in a field of technology that contains potentially patentable subject matter
  • Complete accredited courses covering nine prescribed topics:
    • Legal process and overview of intellectual property
    • Professional conduct
    • Trade marks law
    • Trade marks practice
    • Patent law
    • Patent systems
    • Drafting patent specifications
    • Interpretation and validity of patent specifications
    • Designs law
  • Be of good character.
  • Have been employed for ‘two continuous years or a total of two years within five continuous years’ in positions that provide experience in:
    • searching patent records
    • preparing, filing and prosecuting patent applications
    • drafting patent specifications
    • providing advice on the interpretation, validity and infringement of patents

How to Become a Patent Agent in Canada

To become a registered patent agent in Canada you will need to:

  • Complete a series of four qualifying exams in a span of four days.
  • Before you can register for the examination you must have at least 24 months’ practical experience in the area of patent law and practice, with at least 12 of those months worked in Canada. To obtain a position as a patent agent trainee you will be required to have a degree in science or engineering.

How to Become a Patent Attorney in the UK

To qualify as a patent attorney in the UK, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Pass examinations set by the UK Patent Examination Board. There are two levels of examination – you must pass the foundation level exams before progressing to the final exams the following year.
  • To be eligible to sit the foundation exams you must have a degree awarded by a UK institution (or overseas equivalent) in a science, technology, engineering or mathematics subject.
  • Most candidates receive on-the job training working with a qualified patent attorney prior to attempting the exams.

How to Become a European Patent Attorney

To become a European patent attorney, you must sit the European qualifying examination (EQE). However, before you will be eligible to take this exam you must:

  • Have a suitable qualification, such as a university degree in science or technology/engineering.
  • Have three years’ experience working in the European patent profession, under the supervision of an appropriately qualified individual.
  • Pass a pre-examination paper.

How to Become a Patent Attorney in the US

To become a registered patent attorney in the US, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be admitted to practice law in at least one state in the US territories.
  • Have an adequate technical and scientific background so that you are able to fully understand your clients’ inventions.
  • Pass the patent bar exams that are used to test a candidate’s understanding of the procedures for issuing patents.
  • Be of good moral character and reputation.

If you are not an attorney but meet the other requirements – i.e. you hold a qualification in a scientific or engineering subject and have successfully passed the patent bar exams – you can become a patent agent. As a patent agent you can prepare, file and prosecute patent applications with the USPTO, but you cannot provide any legal advice or represent clients in any legal proceedings involving a state or Federal court.

Note: If you are seeking information on how to become a patent attorney in California, the requirements are the same as above.

How to Become a Patent Attorney in South Africa

To practice as a patent attorney in South Africa you must:

  • Complete a technical or scientific degree or diploma or equivalent alternative qualification.
  • Obtain a law degree (LLB) from a prescribed South African University.
  • Pass the statutory examinations set by the South African Patent Examination Board. Prior to sitting the exams it is strongly recommended that you gain three to six months’ experience with a patent law firm or the Companies and Intellectual Property Commission.