自由运营专利检索

为什么需要自由运营专利检索

如果您正在寻求开发或发布新产品,重要的是要确定你的发明是否触犯第三方知识产权,例如,第三方专利权。如果答案在合理确定的情况下是“否”,那么意味着你拥有自由运营此发明的自由。 “自由运营”搜索也称为“专利清除搜索”或“防专利侵权搜索”。

自由运营专利检索解决了由于被第三方阻止而引起的风险,包括:

  • 开发成本
  • 声誉受损
  • 从市场上撤回产品或服务
  • 法律费用

在竞争激烈的市场经营的客户经常让我们进行专利防侵权检索。澳大利亚自由运营搜索的第一步是在已获得批的或者已经递交的澳大利亚专利申请中,找出可能引起侵权风险的申请。然后,根据专利检索确认的专利权利要求对您的产品或拟议产品进行分析。

如何实现自由运营

当第三方提交专利申请组合时,它们通常只会在少数几个国家/地区提交。例如,专利申请人只在美国和欧洲提交了专利申请 – 而不是在澳大利亚,在这种情况下,您可以在澳大利亚以及美国和欧洲以外的每个国家制造和销售其专利申请。也有可能在某些国家,第三方专利在审查期间被驳回或限制,因此您仍可在这些国家拥有自由经营权。

如果您没有自由经营权利,该怎么办

如果您进行了自由经营专利检索并发现可能侵犯现有专利权,这也未必意味着无计可施。您可以至少有4条路径:

  1. 您可以通过定位现有技术来尝试使专利无效。有时,专利审查员会错过现有技术的重要项目,这些项目自身或与其他现有技术文档组合将可能使授权专利的权利要求无效或受到限制。此外,专利审查员通常只会查看专利和科学出版物,而不会看待现有技术基础,例如商业网站,论坛或博客。专利审查员也很容易错过非英文的现有技术文件 – 例如,俄罗斯专利局数据库。
  2. 您可以尝试从专利所有者处获取该技术的许可。通常若专利所有者本身并未对该专利商业化,您将很可能成功获得许。
  3. 如果您的专利申请涉及到第三方专利所有者的利益,您还可以考虑两项专利申请进行之间的进行交叉许可。这已成为大公司为避免专利诉讼而采用的一种很常
    用的解决方案。
  4. 您可以尝试围绕专利进行发明设计。确保您的产品设计不包含第三方专利权利要求所包含的特征。您的专利代理人可以协助您设计现有专利。

Baxter IP > Services > Freedom-to-Operate Patent Searches

Freedom-To-Operate Patent Searches

Why you might want a freedom-to-operate patent search

If you are looking to develop or release a new product, it is important to ascertain whether it would be open to a claim for infringement of intellectual property rights of a third party, for example, third party patent rights. If the answer to this question, with reasonable certainty, is “no”, then you are said to have “freedom-to-operate”. A “freedom-to-operate” search is also known as a “patent clearance search” or a “patent infringement search”.

A freedom-to-operate patent search addresses the financial risk associated with being blocked from market by a third party in terms of:

  • development costs
  • reputational damage
  • withdrawal of products or services from the market
  • legal costs

Our clients who operate in crowded markets routinely have us carry out patent clearance searches. The first step in an Australian freedom-to-operate search is to identify granted Australian patents or patent applications (which would upon grant) that are live and that pose an infringement risk. Your product or proposed product is then analysed against the claims of the patents that have been identified by the patent clearance search.

How to achieve freedom-to-operate

When a third party files a portfolio of patent applications, they generally will only file in a small selection of countries. For example, a patent applicant may only file a patent application in the United States and Europe – and not in Australia, in which case you can make and sell their patented invention in Australia and in every country other than the United States and Europe. The third party patent application may have also been “knocked back” or limited during examination in some countries and you may therefore still have freedom-to-operate in those countries.

What to do if you don’t have freedom-to-operate

If you had a patent clearance search carried out and discover that you would infringe an existing patent if you were to proceed with your product, it’s not the end of the road. There are at least 4 paths you can go down:

  1. You can attempt to invalidate the patent by locating prior art. Sometimes patent examiners miss important items of prior art that either alone, or in combination with other prior art documents, would invalidate or limit the claims of the granted patent. Furthermore, patent examiners will normally only look at patents and scientific publications and not more broadly at the prior art base, such as on commercial websites, forums or blogs. Patent examiners also easily miss prior art documents that are not in English – for example, on the Russian Patent Office Database.
  2. You can attempt to obtain a license for the technology from the patent owner. You are most likely to be successful in obtaining a license where the patent owner has not commercialised a product in accordance with the patent, themselves.
  3. Where you are the owner of a patent application that is of interest to the patent owner of the third party patent, there is also the possibility of cross-licensing the two patent applications. This has become quite a popular solution employed by large companies to avoid patent litigation but is useful for all companies.
  4. You can attempt to design around the patent. That is, to ensure that your product design does not encompass all of the features of one of the claims of the third party patent. Your patent attorney can help you with designing around an existing patent.


Sydney Office

Suite 2, Level 3A
1 Bligh St
Sydney NSW 2000
+61 2 9264 6716

Melbourne Office

Suite 803, Level 8
488 Bourke St
Melbourne VIC 3000
+61 3 9602 2288

Brisbane Office

Level 10
239 George St
Brisbane QLD 4000
+61 7 3188 5624

Baxter IP Patent Attorneys is a member of


© 2017 Baxter IP Patent Attorneys Sydney






Top