第一阶段
提交临时专利
第二阶段
国际检索
第三阶段
PCT国际专利申请
第四阶段
国家阶段专利申请

第一阶段一临时专利申请

在澳大利亚或美国递交临时专利申请 – 概述

申请美国或澳大利亚临时专利申请通常是为获得世界范围专利的专利申请过程的第一个阶段。澳大利亚临时专利申请是在澳大利亚知识产权局进行递交的,这种申请是一种为您的想法提出国际性专利要求的经济有效的方式。

临时专利申请的优先权日期

澳大利亚知识产权局收到临时专利申请的日期被称为其“优先权日期”。如果在以后的某个时间,您被授予专利,那么您就可以对在优先权日期之后任何侵犯该专利权的人提出起诉。

一旦递交了临时专利申请,您就可以自由地向相关方透露您的新想法,但是我们会建议您一开始的时候在私下进行这种公开。您的新想法,无论是产品还是网络服务,随后还会被标记为“专利申请中”。通过使用保密协议以及在与第三方的会议中提及您正在申请中的专利,可以强调保密性的重要性。–如果这是您商业策略的一方面的话。

对临时专利的错误理解

在准备临时专利时,存在一些明显的错误理解,其中包括:

  1. 临时专利申请不必像标准专利申请这样详细。
  2. 临时专利申请是不需要被定义的已经设定范围的工作。

这样的误解有时会导致准备不充分的临时专利申请被提交。

Baxter IP公司的专利代理人坚信以下事实,即您的临时专利申请的范围和细节往往与在第四阶段递交的国家专利申请的最终有效性有着密切的联系。这些国家专利申请通常在您首次递交临时专利申请五年左右之后被授予。为了解释这两者之间的联系,我们首先需要更详细地了解一下临时专利申请是怎样进行的。

临时专利申请是如何进行的?

临时专利申请是向澳大利亚知识产权局递交的专利说明书,如果陈述恰当,应该包括以下两个方面:

  1. 对您的新想法或者发明用示例(或者“实施例”)进行描述;
  2. 专利要求,即针对侵犯您专利的行为进行评判的一系列法律定义。

专利要求定义一个新想法或新发明的范畴是通过定义 (1) 所谓的独立权利要求中这种新想法的广义概念,然后再定义 (2)所谓的从属权利要求中对您的新想法进行补充的更加详细的定义。权利要求就像是洋葱圈,最广泛的独立权利要求定义了您对专利保护的最大权利要求(外层),而从属权利要求定义了或有的设想(内层),用于在专利审核过程中规避现有技术资料(在优先权日或之前公开的关于同一个想法的任何信息)。

以这种方式,精心起草的临时专利申请应该为您的新想法确立一个强大的国际递交日期。

为什么临时专利如此重要?

1. 临时专利可以为您的专利优先权要求提供支持

临时专利申请为您在专利说明中恰当描述的任何新想法或者发明确立了一个国际申请递交日期。第四阶段要求这一国际申请递交日期优先权的国家专利申请,在某些情况下,完全依赖这一优先权利要求的有效性。如果新想法在递交临时专利申请的前12个月被公开或者出现了其他的现有技术,就是这样的情况。

问题是,这个对国际申请递交日期的优先权要求只有在以下条件下才能够获得确认,即有对您的新想法的描述充分的实施方案来支持法律上全部的权利要求,并且这种支持需要被包括在您的临时专利申请的专利说明书中。

一份缜密的临时专利申请可以支持将您最早递交国际申请的日期作为优先权日的要求,因此,在某些情况下,可以对专利有效或无效起决定性的作用。

2. 临时专利申请可以提高您的专利垄断范围

如果您的专利说明书中提供的实施方案的范围不足,那么专利局或法院可能会更狭义地解释您的专利要求。在临时专利申请方面最初所进行的详尽工作使得实施例通常被写入到第四阶段国家专利申请中,并且在任何情况下,不能在您递交第三阶段PCT国际专利申请之后被加入,因此,确保您的临时专利申请能够公开您发明的详细信息是非常重要的。

如果对权利要求的解释范围比较狭窄,那么您被授予的专利权捕捉到侵权行为的能力(即其法律效力)就是有限的。因此,我们总是建议客户一开始就递交有足够的实施例来支持全部的专利要求的详尽的临时专利申请。

因此,全面缜密的临时专利申请可以加强您的垄断覆盖范围和您阻止侵权行为的能力。

3. 临时专利申请是专利审核的基础工作

临时专利申请的递交是以一种定义范围的法律方式在权利要求中描述新想法的第一步。虽然在递交第三阶段的PCT国际专利申请或第四阶段国家专利申请之前,会对专利要求进行复查和修改,但是权利要求书中的基本用语在起草临时专利申请的过程中通常就决定了。另外,因为我们知道,权利要求书规定了审核过程中的或有设想,所以,从一开始就递交一份专利要求结构表述清晰(即精细分层的“洋葱圈”)的详尽的临时专利申请,有助于在专利申请的审核阶段取得好的结果。

一份全面缜密的临时专利申请可以帮您在专利审核阶段取得满意的结果。

Baxter IP临时专利策略集

早专利申请的缜密方法需要战略性的眼光,以下是我们的一些见解:

  1. 确定新想法的关键所在: 保护新想法背后的理念,而不仅仅是具体的执行。
  2. 确立多项发明: 从不同角度来查看一个产品往往使得可以定义多项发明。这可以:
    • 有助于保护未来的研发
    • 创建知识产权资产价值
    • 减少专利申请无效的风险; 以及
    • 更好地捕捉所产生的侵权行为。
  3. 集思广益,然后再提交: 一旦您最初的临时专利申请已被提交,以确定一个较早的提交日期,就召集具有创意和商业头脑的员工和您的专利代理人一起进行会谈,来确定您是否可以:
    • 想方设法拓宽您的专利要求
    • 开发您想法的新的实施方案
    • 在权利要求书中以不同的方式来为您的想法下定义,从而创建新的独立权利要求组合;并且
    • 思考竞争对手可能如何以一种不太可取的方式来复制您的新想法,但是以这样的方式却可以避免侵犯您的专利权利要求。
  4. 在竞争对手,而不是消费者方面注重对专利的保护: 重要的是,专利权利要求书应被正确书写,以确保将生产要求过专利保护的设备或者使用受保护的工艺的竞争者被认为是侵犯了您的专利权,而不是您的客户。
  5. 在商业优势方面注重对专利的保护: 专利要求的措辞应该是宽泛的,以保护想法的商业优势,而不仅仅是特定的设备或软件。
  6. 为消耗品提供专利保护: 如果可能的话,不仅仅只为设备或者工艺申请专利保护,为用于设备或者工艺的耗材申请专利保护也是很重要的。通过这种方式,重要的收入来源可以得到保护。
  7. 瞄准方向: 除了保护您的新想法,知识产权保护可以通过围绕竞争者产品线未来可能出现的版本来申请专利或注册外观设计,以有针对性地阻碍竞争对手的产品开发。
  8. 保护由工艺制成的产品: 为通过创意性工艺制成的产品递交专利保护申请可以加强在一些市场中的保护。
  9. 经常递交临时专利申请: 如果开发周期需延续数月以上,请定期咨询您的专利代理人,以确定是否需要递交进一步的临时专利申请,以保护新项目或新产品的开发。

底线

因为,一份全面缜密的临时专利申请可以提高:

  1. 您的专利的有效性
  2. 您执行您的专利的能力; 以及
  3. 您在专利审核过程中取得满意结果的能力

因此,准备和提交具有以下两点的全面缜密的临时专利申请是非常有利的:

  1. 精心制定的权利要求结构;以及d
  2. 具有很强支持性的详细说明

精心制定的权利要求结构可以通过以下方式实现::

  1. 捕获与您的产品、系统、工艺或者软件相关联的所有的新想法;
  2. 使用多组独立权利要求来从不同的角度捕捉新的想法;
  3. 具有精细分级的权利要求结构;以及
  4. 通过集思广益来思考竞争对手可能会如何试图绕过您的权利要求,并相应地调整您的权利要求的措辞。

具有很强支持性的详细说明,可以通过以下方式实现:

  1. 全面彻底地捕捉所有的实施方案;并且
  2. 集思广益可能存在的变化,并在您的描述中涵盖这些。

临时专利申请的费用是多少?

以下三者之间存在着相当比例性的联系:

  1. 权利要求结构制定的完备程度,以及详尽的说明所提供支持的程度;
  2. 准备专利说明书所需的专业时间量;和
  3. 成本
  4. 成功申请专利的机率

遗憾的是,在准备全面缜密的临时专利申请方面是没有捷径的。在评定不同专利代理公司的费用时,您应该明白,起草和提交临时专利申请的主要费用在于所涉及的专业时间。就临时专利申请而言:“物有所值,一分钱一分货”。鉴于大多数专利代理人(有类似经验的)的小时费率是相对一致的,您应该质疑为什么有些人会比其他人便宜。

通常情况下,由不同公司提供的报价是针对在以下方面有区别的专利说明书的:

  1. 独立权利要求组合的数量;
  2. 每个独立权利要求组合中从属权利要求的数量;
  3. 发明描述中所要求保护的力度;
  4. 您的发明中需要全面描述的实施例的数量;以及
  5. 总结,或集思广益,以扩大保护范围。

所有这5个因素都会在以下几个方面对最终的结果产生影响:

  1. 您的专利的有效性;
  2. 您执行您的专利的能力;以及
  3. 在审核过程中去的满意结果的能力。

因此,重要的是,要在预算要求和您的知识产权的有效性方面找到正确的平衡。

Baxter IP确保所有临时专利申请的起草都是高标准的,符合并且超越在世界各地申请专利的相应的法律要求。

我们针对起草和提交临时专利申请的封顶费用或固定费用报价将取决于起草专利说明书所花费的小时数,所以我们通常会列出一系列的费用选择,供您考虑。就一项发明起草和递交临时专利申请通常在4000澳元以上不等,取决于发明的性质和复杂性。

通过Baxter IP 递交临时专利申请的过程

第一阶段
提交临时专利
第二阶段
国际检索
第三阶段
PCT国际专利申请
第四阶段
国家阶段专利申请

Baxter IP > Services > How to Patent? > Stage 1 : Provisional Patent Applications

Stage 1 : Provisional Patent Applications

Filing a provisional patent application in Australia or USA - overview

Filing a US or Australian provisional patent application is normally the first stage in the patent application process in order to obtain patents around the world. An Australian provisional patent application is lodged by an Australian patent attorney at IP Australia and represents a cost-effective way to lay an international claim to your idea.

Priority date for provisional patent applications

The date on which a provisional patent application is received by IP Australia is known as its “priority date”. If, at a later point in time, you are granted a patent, you will be able to sue anyone who has infringed the patent after the priority date.

Once a provisional patent application has been filed by your patent attorney, you are free to disclose your new idea to interested parties, although we would recommend initially that you make such disclosures in confidence. Your new idea, whether product or software can then also be marked “patent pending”. By using a confidentiality agreement together with reference to your pending patent in meetings with third parties, the importance of confidentiality can be reinforced – if this is an aspect of your commercial strategy.

Misconceptions about provisional patent applications

There are a few notable misconceptions around the preparation of provisional patent applications and these include:

  1. That a provisional patent application does not need to be as detailed as a standard patent application.
  2. That a provisional patent application is a set scope of work that does not need to be defined.

Such misconceptions sometimes lead to inadequate provisional patent applications being filed, especially when not prepared by an Australian patent attorney.

Patent attorneys at Baxter IP are particularly cogent of the fact that the scope and detail of disclosure in your provisional patent application is often closely linked to the final effectiveness of your national patent applications filed in Stage 4. These national patent applications are often granted some 5 years after your provisional patent application is first filed. To explain the link between the two, we first need to understand in more detail how a provisional patent application works.

How does a provisional patent application work?

A provisional patent application is an invention specification lodged with IP Australia that, when set out properly by a patent attorney, includes both:

  1. A description of various examples (or “embodiments”) of your new idea or invention; and
  2. Claims, which are a series of legal definitions which become tests for infringement of your patent.

The way claims define the scope of a new idea or invention is by defining: (1) a broad notion of the new idea in what are called independent claims and by then defining (2) subsidiary, more detailed definitions of your new idea in what are known as dependent claims. Patent claims work like onion rings with the broadest independent claim(s) defining your optimal claim(s) to patent coverage (the outer layer) and the dependent claims defining contingency positions (the inner layers) that are used to circumvent prior art material (any information about the same idea that was publicly available at or before the priority date) during patent application examination processes.

In this way, a well-drafted provisional patent application prepared by an Australian patent attorney should establish a robust international filing date for your new idea.

How claims work

Why are provisional patents so important?

  1. A thorough provisional patent application supports your patent priority claim

    A provisional patent application establishes an international filing date for any new idea or invention properly articulated in your patent specification. Stage 4 National Patent Applications that claim priority to this international filing date, in certain situations, are fully reliant on this priority claim to be valid. One such situation is where the new idea was publicly disclosed or other prior art become publicly available in the first 12 months post filing of the provisional patent application.

    The problem is that this priority claim to the International filing date will only be upheld, where the full legal breadth of the claims were supported by adequately described embodiments of your new idea and this support was included in the patent specification of your provisional patent application.

    A thorough provisional patent application supports the priority claim to your earliest international filing date and hence, in some situations, can make the difference between a valid or an invalid patent.


  2. A thorough provisional patent application enhances your patent monopoly coverage

    If an inadequate range of embodiments are provided in your patent specification, a patent office or court may interpret your claims more narrowly. Since embodiments are normally written into the Stage 4 National Patent Applications as a result of the detailed work originally performed on the provisional patent application and in any case, cannot be added post filing of your Stage 3 PCT International Patent Application, it is very important that your provisional patent application is a detailed disclosure of your invention.

    Where claims are interpreted more narrowly, the ability of your granted patent to capture an infringement (i.e. its legal effectiveness) is limited. Therefore, our patent attorneys always recommend you file a detailed provisional patent application from the outset with enough embodiments to support the full breadth of your claims.

    A thorough provisional patent application can enhance your monopoly coverage and your ability to stop patent infringement.


  3. A thorough provisional patent application sets the ground work for patent examination

    A provisional patent application filing is the first point at which the new idea is articulated in a scope-defined, legal manner in the claims. Whilst claims are normally reviewed and amended prior to filing your Stage 3 PCT International Patent Application or your Stage 4 National Patent Applications, the foundational wording of the claims is normally developed during the drafting of your provisional patent application. Further, since we know that claims define contingency positions during examination processes, the filing of a detailed provisional patent application with a well-articulated claim structure from the outset (i.e. a finely graded set of “onion rings”) helps achieve a successful result during examination of your patent application by creating better "fall-back" positions.

    A thorough provisional patent application can help you achieve a successful result during patent examination.


Baxter IP’s quiver of provisional patent application strategies

A thorough approach to patent drafting requires strategic insights, here are some of ours:

  1. Identify the crux of the new idea: Protect the concept behind the new idea, not just specific implementations.
  2. Identify multiple inventions: Viewing the one product from different angles can often lead to being able to define multiple inventions. This can:
    • help protect future research and development
    • create intellectual property asset value
    • reduce the risk of invalidity of your patent application; and
    • better capture arising infringement.
  3. Brainstorm and then file again: Once your initial provisional patent application has been filed to establish an early filing date, meet with a group of creative and commercial employees together with your patent attorney to see if you can:
    • find ways to broaden your claims
    • develop new embodiments of your idea
    • define ideas in different ways in the claims to create new independent claim sets; and
    • think how a competitor might replicate your new idea in a less preferable way but in such a way as to avoid infringement of your claims.
  4. Focus patent protection on competitors, not consumers: It is important that patent claims be written correctly to ensure that competitors that will be producing the claimed apparatus, or carrying out the protected process, will be found to be infringing your patent – and not your customers.
  5. Focus patent protection on commercial advantages: The wording of the claims should be broad enough to protect the commercial advantages of the idea, and not just the particular apparatus or software.
  6. Patent protect the consumables: Where possible, it is important to patent protect not just the apparatus or process, but also consumables used in or with the apparatus or process. In this way, the important revenue streams can be protected.
  7. Targeting the arrow: In addition to protecting your new ideas, intellectual property protection can be targeted at hindering competitor product development by filing patents or registered designs around likely future versions of their product line.
  8. Protect products made by a process: Filing claims that patent protect products made by the inventive process can enhance protection in some markets.
  9. File provisional patent applications often: Where development lifecycles extend over months or more, consult with your patent attorney regularly as to whether a further provisional patent application needs to be filed to cover new project or product developments.

The bottom line

Since, a thorough provisional patent application enhances:

  1. the validity of your patent
  2. your ability to enforce your patent; and
  3. your ability to achieve a successful result during patent examination

It is therefore highly beneficial to prepare and file a thorough provisional patent application that has:
  1. A well-developed claim structure; and
  2. A very supportive detailed description

A well-developed claim structure can be achieved by:

  1. Capturing all new ideas associated with your product, system, process or software;
  2. Capturing new ideas from different perspectives with multiple sets of independent claims;
  3. With a finely tiered claim structure; and
  4. Brainstorming together with your patent attorney as to how a competitor might attempt to circumvent your claims and adjusting the wording in your claims accordingly.

A supportive detailed description can be achieved by:

  1. Capturing all embodiments thoroughly; and
  2. Brainstorming variations and covering these in your description too.

How much does a provisional patent application cost?

There is a fairly proportional link between:

  1. How well-developed a claim structure is and how supportive a detailed description is;
  2. The amount of professional time required to develop the patent specification; and
  3. Cost
  4. Chances of successful patenting

Unfortunately, there are no shortcuts in preparing a thorough provisional patent application. When assessing the costs of different patent attorney firms, you should understand that the main cost of drafting and filing a provisional patent application lies in the professional time involved. So far as provisional patent applications are concerned: “you get what you pay for”. Given that the hourly rates of most patent attorneys (of similar experience) are relatively consistent, you might question why some are cheaper than others.

Typically, quotations offered by different firms are for provisional patent applications that vary in terms of:

  1. The number of independent claims sets;
  2. The number of dependent claims in each independent claim set;
  3. The depth of coverage in the description of the invention;
  4. The number of embodiments of your invention that are fully described; and
  5. The inclusion or otherwise of brainstorming to broaden coverage.

All of these 5 factors can affect the end outcome in terms of:

  1. The validity of your patent;
  2. Your ability to enforce your patent; and
  3. Your ability to achieve a successful result during examination.

It is therefore important to strike the right balance between budgetary requirements and the effectiveness of your intellectual property rights.

Baxter IP ensures that all of its provisional patent applications are drafted to high standards, meeting and surpassing appropriate legal requirements for patenting around the world.

Our capped-fee or fixed-fee quote for drafting and filing a provisional patent application will depend on the number of hours taken to draft the specification so we will normally set out a series of cost options for you to consider. Drafting and lodging a provisional application in respect of one invention generally ranges upwards from $4,000 depending on the nature and complexity of the invention.


Process for filing a provisional patent application with Baxter IP

File your provisional patent application with Baxter IP



Sydney Office

Suite 2, Level 3A
1 Bligh St
Sydney NSW 2000
+61 2 9264 6716

Melbourne Office

Suite 803, Level 8
488 Bourke St
Melbourne VIC 3000
+61 3 9602 2288

Brisbane Office

Level 10
239 George St
Brisbane QLD 4000
+61 7 3188 5624

Baxter IP Patent Attorneys is a member of


© 2017 Baxter IP Patent Attorneys Sydney






Top