知识产权评估

什么是知识产权评估?

知识产权评估是一种用于确定和评估知识产权资产的多层面的法律和财务分析。我们可以进行专利评估以及商标评估来向您提供对您的知识产权价值的客观看法。一旦您清楚了什么能够让您的知识产权有价值,该评估还将告诉您如何使得这种价值最大化。

知识产权评估和我的生意有关吗?

大多数企业的有形资产只占企业总价值的一小部分,而其余的价值则历来是用一个广义的术语“商誉”来指代,其中包括专利和商标。在发现、衡量或者围绕这种价值做计划方面付出的努力少之又少。很少有企业不像描述中这样,而且很有可能您的企业也是如此。

为什么要对我的知识产权进行评估?

对知识产权进行评估的原因有多种,例如:

  • 作为较大型公司为兼并或收购进行评估的一部分
  • 作为高端策略性知识产权或业务规划的一部分
  • 针对资本利得税(CGT)获得对无形资产的独立评估
  • 用于合资协议,以确定各方是否投入同等货币价值的物品
  • 作为纳税申报的理由

虽然上面提到的例子是为什么要对知识产权进行评估的主要原因,但是进行专利评估或者其他此类的知识产权评估还有一些其他的重要的好处。尤其是评估是对知识产权各个独立部分的承认,而这一认可在某些情况下可占公司价值的80%以上。

对知识产权这些独立部分的承认,例如企业的专利或商标,带来的是对这些独立的部分在企业运作中所发挥作用的了解。这种了解可以让企业有更好的能力来针对该知识产权的优势做出规划,以使其对企业的价值最大化。

在某些情况下,只要有一个直接指出您企业知识产权价值差异化来源的指南者,并以清晰易懂的方式对其进行解释,就可以用新的眼光来看待企业及其策略性规划。

当一个企业的管理者对其无形资产有了很好的了解,他们就可以利用这些无形资产来发挥其最大价值,并且吸引潜在投资者的兴趣。

如果您想更好地了解您企业的无形资产所蕴含的价值,那么请随时和我们的常驻知识产权评估专家和专利代理人迈克·比亚卓取得联系。

Baxter IP > Services > How to Patent? > Intellectual Property Valuation

Intellectual Property Valuation

What is intellectual property valuation?

Intellectual property valuation is a multi-faceted legal and financial analysis to identify and value intellectual property assets. Our patent valuations and trademark valuations can be performed to provide you with an objective idea of the value of your IP. Once you have an understanding of what makes your IP valuable, this will also show you how to go about maximising that value.

Is intellectual property valuation relevant to my business?

In most businesses, tangible assets only make up a small fraction of the total value of the business. The remainder of the value has traditionally been referred to under the broad term “Goodwill” and encompasses patents and trademarks. Very little effort has been made to identify, quantify or plan around this value. There are very few businesses that do not fall within this description, and it is highly likely that yours does too.

Why value my intellectual property?

IP valuation is carried out for a variety of reasons, such as:

  • As part of a larger company valuation for a merger or acquisition
  • As part of high-level strategic intellectual property or business planning
  • In order to obtain an independent valuation of intangible assets for capital gains tax (CGT) purposes
  • For a joint venture deal to establish whether the parties are contributing items of equivalent monetary value
  • In justification of tax returns

While the instances mentioned above are the main reasons why intellectual property valuations are carried out, there are other important benefits of having a patent valuation or other such IP valuation carried out. Not the least of these is the recognition of the various discrete items of intellectual property that in some cases can make up more than 80% of a business’s value.

Together with the recognition of these discrete items of IP, for example the business’ patents or trade marks, comes an understanding of the part that these discrete items have to play in the functioning of the business. This understanding allows for a better ability to plan for the leveraging of that IP to maximise its value in the business.

In some cases, just having a compass that points directly to the source of the intellectual property value differentiators in your business, and explained in a clear and understandable way, allows for the business, as well as its strategic planning, to be viewed in a new light.

When management of a business has a good understanding of its intangible assets, they can leverage them for maximum value such as for attracting investment.

If you want a better understanding of the value resident in the intellectual property assets of your business, then feel free to contact our resident IP valuation expert and patent attorney - Mike Biagio.




Sydney Office

Suite 2, Level 3A
1 Bligh St
Sydney NSW 2000
+61 2 9264 6716

Melbourne Office

Suite 803, Level 8
488 Bourke St
Melbourne VIC 3000
+61 3 9602 2288

Brisbane Office

Level 10
239 George St
Brisbane QLD 4000
+61 7 3188 5624

Baxter IP Patent Attorneys is a member of


© 2017 Baxter IP Patent Attorneys Sydney






Top