商标搜索

进行商标搜索

在向市场推出新产品时,商标是首先考虑的方面之一。 毕竟,您的商标代表您的商业身份,因此,该知识产权应受到保护。

在开发品牌商标的初步阶段,您需要确保您选择的商标不会侵犯他人之前的权利。 如果您的商标使用被发现构成侵权行为,您最终可能被要求向被侵权方支付赔偿金并进行品牌重塑。 如果您的商标申请收到基于先前商标申请/注册的反对意见,并且需要专业人士帮助来回复此报告,也可能会产生费用。又或者,您的申请遭到异议需要进入异议程序,您很可能会耗尽资金。 如果在初步阶段进行彻底的商标检查,则可以避免这些情况发生。

在开发和申请商标之前自行进行搜索还是寻求专业服务是成本和风险之间的权衡问题。 您可能认为自己进行搜索可以节省一些资金,然而缺乏对搜索方法的了解,法律法规的熟悉和实践经验可能会导致搜索效率低下,甚至几乎无法保证过滤当前可能出现的冲突商标。

您是否可以使用免费资源进行自己的商标搜索? 在这里,“免费”一词具有误导性; 虽然实际的搜索引擎可能是免费的,但对于搜索结果的专业知识和分析所需的时间,人力资源并不是免费的。 没有明确方向的搜索可以找出数千个条目,筛选所有这些商标搜索结果非常耗时,特别在您并不清楚什么才是真正有用信息的情况下。 最终可能会绕了圈子,并根据搜索到的不准确结果做出了错误的判断从而使您在品牌重塑造成更大经济损失。而这部分损失,可能远远超过聘用商标代理人的成本。

商标代理人可以通过在国内和外国商标注册数据库处进行商标检索,并可以根据普通法提供市场上已使用却不在政府商标注册簿中记录的相关商标给您做出相应指导。商标代理人利用其他可能的商标形式制定查询标准,例如故意拼写错误的单词,还可以检查您的商标在国外市场的语言适用性(如中国的翻译和音译)。 当然,没有一个系统是100%绝对可靠的,但这些搜索策略通常是根据您的拟议商标进行定制,可以最大限度地降低您的商标侵犯他人注册商标权或他人在市场上已使用却未注册商标的风险。

商标搜索的目的

根据目标,可以进行不同目商标搜索。

可用性(清除)搜索

执行此类搜索以查看您的商标是否与注册簿中的现有商标相同或看似相似; 在这种情况下,如果发现您的商标与之前注册/申请的商标相同或看似相似,则您的商标使用可能会侵犯先前商标注册或申请的权利,因此不应采用。

检查独特性

对于特定商品或服务具有描述性商标被授予保护的可能性很有限(例如:“柔软”一词与棉制品相关因此不可注册为棉织品产品的商标, 而当“柔软”一词结合一定独特图像设计而成为一个图形商标则可能获得注册)。另外,使用实际产品或服务的通用名无法得到注册。 通过搜索,商标代理人将能够评估商标的独特性和强度。

侵权监控

观看搜索与可用性搜索具有相反的功能,其目的是找出侵犯您注册商标权的其他商标。需要定期监控新提交的商标申请,以尽量减少因商标被侵权而造成的损害。

域名搜索

在进行可用性搜索以外,商标搜索还可以检查出与所拥有的商标相关联的域名的可用性。 此搜索的结果可能有助于商标所有者决定是否购买域名或其他行动方案。

商标纠纷

在您的代理人向另一方发出停止和终止使用商标信函之前,需要对对方涉嫌侵权行为进行调查; 否则,毫无根据的威胁可能需要向被告方的赔偿损失。

回复商标申请过程中的审查报告

在处理审查员的反对意见时,类似商标申请或注册证据可能对反驳反对意见的论证有利。当然,提供此类信息并也不能保证审查员对相关商标的注册做出相同的决定。

语言搜索

当您的商标被翻译成其他语言时,可能会导致您的商标在潜在贸易地区,生产地区和运输地区侵犯当地商标注册。 此外,您商标的翻译的语言可能对该社会文化构成侵犯性。进行此类型的搜索,您需要寻求对目标国家的当地市场,文化和语言以及俗语具有丰富知识的商标代理人协助。

商标搜索中的搜索元素

除了已注册商标和在审商标中的相同字词或图像元素外,商标代理人还将使用不同的信息进行检索。比如使用元素组合包括添加的前缀和后缀,不规则复数形式,诸如撇号的标点符号,故意拼写错误,语音和文字游戏中的相似性,名称,缩写,同义词,替代拼写以及其他语言中的等价物(音译),和等效的视觉设计等。

尼斯分类(适用于澳大利亚和国际搜索)

商标与其代表的商品和服务密切相关。 在尼斯分类中,商标分为45类,第1至34类代表商品,第35至45类代表服务。 商标可以在多个类别下注册。 如果在相同或相关类别下注册相同或容易混淆的相似商标,则可能会发生侵权,因此用于查找这些商标的搜索将用于验证您的商标是否侵犯他人权利或其他商标是否侵犯了您的注册商标权利。

维也纳法典(用于国际商标搜索)

维也纳代码(设计搜索代码)是商标图形元素国际分类的简称,其概念是以描述和索引目的而标准化商标中的图像。 这种方法通过输入与商标中的主要数字相关的代码,使进行搜索的人更容易找到相似的标记。 人物因素分为29个不同的类别,如天体的第1类,人类的第2类等。 每个类别进一步细化为几个级别的细分,最接近商标中的图形元素。 每个类别和子类的约定和描述可能会令人困惑,因此专门从事国际申请的商标代理人能为使用维也纳代码进行商标搜索提供宝贵意见。

商标搜索资源

除了可用的政府商标注册的搜索引擎,例如分别反映了澳大利亚和世界各地的注册商标的澳大利亚知识产权局WIPO全球品牌数据库以外,还应使用其他资源来确保商标搜索全面性。其他国家/地区的商标注册数据库有的非英语系统,有的需要收费,有的查询法则复杂。除了这些以外,您的商标代理人还可以使用在线搜索引擎,域名目录以及社交和商业注册系统来识别贸易中使用的普通法商标。


商标搜索可以根据进行搜索的一方的最终目标提供多种功能。 但是,如果没有相关的经验和对可用资源的了解,商标搜索看起来就像一个没有出路的迷宫。相比之下,商标代理人拥有进行相关检索的培训,经验和资源,并在商标冲突时给您提供解决方法,从而最大限度地减少您的工作量,降低错失其他冲突商标的风险从而为您节省了大笔潜在成本。综上所述,联系商标代理人是您进行商标搜索时更具成本效益和更有效的方法。

Trade Mark Searches

Conducting a Trade Mark Search

When introducing a new product into the market, the trade mark is one of the first aspects that is considered. After all, your trade mark represents your business identity, and thus, this intellectual property should be protected.

In the preliminary stages of developing a trade mark, you need to ensure that the mark you choose will not be infringing on somebody else’s earlier rights. If infringement is found, you may end up paying monetary compensation to the party being infringed and doing costly rebranding. You may also incur charges if your trade mark receives an Examination Report based on a prior trade mark application/registration and you require professional help to respond to this report. Alternatively, you may also end up having your resources drained if you have to go through an opposition process. Such occurrences may be avoided if a thorough trade mark check is conducted in the preliminary stages.

Trade Mark Searches

Whether to conduct a search prior to developing and applying for a trade mark by yourself or employing another party to do so is a question of a trade-off between cost reduction and risk. You may think that by conducting a D.I.Y. search you are saving some money, but lack of extensive knowledge of clearance searches, legislation, and practice may result in an ineffective search and offer virtually no assurance of filtering possible conflicting trade marks that are currently in the market.

Is it advisable for you to conduct your own trade mark search using free resources? The word “free” in this case is misleading; while the actual search engine may be free, the time, human resource, expertise, and analysis that such searches and their results require are not. Searches without a clear-cut direction can output thousands of entries, and sifting through all of these trade mark search results is time consuming, especially if you are unaware of what you’re looking for. One may end up going around in circles, and a wrong decision based on your search results may result in considerable financial loss on your end in terms of rebranding cost. Ultimately, you may end up losing far more than the cost of hiring a trade mark attorney in the first place.

A trade mark attorney can assist you by conducting trade mark searches in national and foreign trade mark registries and may provide guidance in relation to common-law marks in use in the market, which are not included in the government trade mark registers. As a part of their search, trade mark attorneys formulate query prompts utilising other possible forms of the trade marks, such as deliberately misspelled words, and can also check for linguistic suitability of your mark in foreign markets (like translations and transliterations for China). Of course, no system is 100% infallible, but these searches are typically customised to suit your proposed trade mark and can minimise the risk of your mark infringing on a registered trade mark or an established unregistered trade mark in the market.

Purposes of a Trade Mark Search

Depending on the aim, trade mark searches can be conducted for different purposes.

Availability (clearance) search

This type of search is performed to see whether your trade mark is identical or deceptively similar to existing marks in the register; in this case, if your trade mark is found to be identical or deceptively similar to a previously registered/applied for mark, your trade mark may be infringing on prior rights and thus should not be adopted.

To check distinctiveness

Descriptive trade marks, which describe a particular good or service can be granted protection to a limited capacity (for example: soft in relation to cotton products are not registrable, whereas a “Soft” figurative trade mark is registered in relation to cosmetics). Meanwhile, generic trade marks, which use the actual product or service, cannot be protected at all. By conducting a search, a trade mark attorney will be able to assess the strength and level of distinctiveness of your mark.

Infringement Monitoring

Watching searches serve the opposite function as an availability search in that the expected outcome is to find other marks infringing on your registered mark. Regular monitoring of newly filed trade mark applications is needed to minimise the damage that possible trade mark infringement can cause your business.

Domain name search

While separate from availability searches, trade mark searches are also conducted to check the availability of domain names that are typically connected to the owned trade marks. The outcome of this searches may help the trade mark owner decide whether to purchase the domain or other course of action.

Disputes

Alleged infringement needs to be investigated before your solicitor can issue a Cease and Desist letter to another party; otherwise, groundless threats may result in incurred damages payable to the accused party.

Response to adverse reports

When addressing an adverse report from an examiner, evidence of registration of a similar mark or case may support arguments in favour of your application. Of course, presenting such information does not guarantee that the current examiner would make the same decision regarding the relevant trade mark being registered.

Linguistic search

Translations of your trade mark into other languages may result in infringement of registered brands in countries that you are considering trade mark registration for potential trading, production, and transport. In addition, the translation of your mark can be socially inappropriate or offensive. These types of searches require trade mark attorneys who are knowledgeable about the local market, cultural and linguistic nuances, and colloquialisms in target countries.

Search elements in Trade Mark Searches

Trade mark attorneys use different information in forming queries in addition to identical words or devices in the registered and pending trade marks. Possible considered combinations of elements used in search queries include added prefixes and suffixes, irregularly pluralised forms, punctuations such as apostrophes, deliberate misspellings, similarities in phonetics and word play, names, abbreviations, synonyms, alternative spellings, and equivalents in other languages (transliteration), and equivalent visual devices.

Nice Classification (for Australian and international searches)

Trade marks are distinctly associated to the goods and services that they represent or are intended for use. In the Nice classification, trade marks are categorised into 45 classes, with classes 1 to 34 representing goods and classes 35 to 45 representing services. Trade marks may be registered under multiple classes. Infringement may occur when identical or confusingly similar marks are registered under the same or related classes, so searches targeted toward finding these marks are used to verify if your mark infringes on others or if other marks infringe on your registered marks.

Vienna Code (for international trade mark searches)

The Vienna code (design search code), which is shorthand for the International Classification of the Figurative Elements of Marks, was conceptualised to standardise the images in trade marks for the description and indexing purposes. This approach makes it easier for the one conducting the search to find similar marks by entering the code pertaining to the predominant figures in the trade mark. The figure elements are classified into 29 different categories, such as Category 1 for celestial bodies, Category 2 for human beings, and so on. Each category is further refined into several levels of subdivisions that most closely approximate the figurative element in the trade mark. The conventions and the descriptions of each class and subclass can be confusing, so the advice of a trade mark attorney specialising in international filing is invaluable in conducting trade mark searches using the Vienna code.

Trade mark search resources

In addition to the search engines of available government trade mark registers, such as that of IP Australia and WIPO Global Brand database, which reflect registered trade marks in Australia and worldwide, respectively, other resources should be used to ensure that the trade mark search is as comprehensive as possible. The trade mark registers of other countries are not available or may require certain fees or subscription. Other search tools utilise complicated query algorithms. Moreover, your trade mark attorney may use online search engines, domain directories, and social and business registries that are useful in identifying common-law marks being used in trade.


Trade mark searches can serve multiple functions depending on the ultimate goal of the party conducting the search. However, without relevant experience and knowledge of the available resources, trade mark search can seem like a labyrinth with no way out. By contrast, trade mark attorneys have the training, experience, and resources to conduct relevant searches and suggest possible resolution approaches in the event of trade mark conflicts, thereby minimising your effort, the risk of missing out on other conflicting marks, and the potential cost of overlooking these marks down the line. With all factors considered, contacting trade mark attorneys may just be the more cost-effective and efficient approach in conducting your trade mark search.