专利律师问题

专利代理人和专利律师之间的区别是什么?

在澳大利亚,对于专利问题应该咨询专利律师还是专利代理人常常让人感到困惑。

新南威尔士州的专利律师是专门从事知识产权方面工作的律师,是顺利完成the Board’s examinations(Diploma in Law),或新南威尔士州认可的法律学位,并完成法律实务培训认可项目的专业人士。专利律师通常与负责专利权诉讼的大律师一起工作。

专利代理人是:1.拥有工程或科学学位,2.完成了一组专业标准委员会所订明有关知识产权的课题3.在规定期限内在一个专利代理人的监督下工作。专利代理人经常被描述为一部分工程师,一部分律师,并且通常参与撰写专利申请并且负责专利从申请到批准的过程。专利代理人还可以去澳大利亚知识产权局处理专利异议(针对专利权冲突的仲裁程序)。


什么是专利?

专利是一项独有垄断的发明被联邦政府授所授权的,发明可以是一件产品或者是一个程序。一般情况下,是做某事的一种新方法或者是提供一个新的技术去解决一个问题。专利提供了法律效力来防止他人利用自己的发明。


专利可以提供什么样的保护?

专利保护是指未经专利人同意,该发明不能被商业化制造,使用,分发或销售。为了阻止侵权,该专利通常被法院强制执行。相反,法院也可以在第三方成功挑战下宣判该专利无效。


什么可以获得专利?

对于一项发明获得专利,它必须满足一定的标准。例如,它必须

  • 在世界上是独一无二的,
  • 和现有的技术相比,它包含一个创新的或者有创造力的步骤。

在澳大利亚,唯一排除在外的专利是:人类和生物的繁衍。因此,这些专利可以保护的产品和工序包括:医药产品,新材料,化学工艺 和所有方式的 机械电气和电子设备


专利持有者有哪些权利?

专利持有人有权决定谁可以或者谁不可以使用这项发明在,在这项发明被保护的时间内。在共同商定的条款下,专利持有人可以给予许可或者牌照给其他人使用这项发明在双方达成协议的情况下。专利持有者也可以将持有权转让给新的专利持有人。一旦专利到期,专利持有者将失去专利所有权,而此项专利将会再次进入公共领域,可再次为他人作为商业利用。


专利代理人和客户之间有必要签署保密协议吗?

澳大利亚专利法规定,注册的知识产权专利律师及其客户之间的对话,或者任何与对话有关的录音及文档记录,都享有普通律师和其客户之间同样的权利。也就是说,注册专利律师在根据信托规定为其客户利益考虑的情况下具有严格保密的义务。


谁有权申请专利?

只有发明人或者从发明人手上获得专利发明权的人,才有权利被授权专利发明。如果此发明的构思是由发明人的雇员所传达,那么这项发明的发明权将为雇主所有。如果知识产权是通过在其正常职责过程中的员工、承包商或者咨询公司开发的,那么出示一个书面证明来保证之前相关的工作是很重要的。


我应该什么时候提交专利申请?

在一项发明被公开披露细节或者进行任何商业活动之前提交专利申请是非常重要的。否则,这有可能导致您失去对专利的权利。但是如果情况已经发生,请立即寻求专利律师的意见。


专利申请获批专利需要多长时间?

优先权日(为了证明你的发明是一项最新发明)。临时申请只是暂时的,为了为了保证其优先权日的有效性,澳大利亚或者国际专利申请必须在申请递交后的12个月内授权。


什么是临时申请?

临时申请是用于根据客户意愿建立一个优先权日(为了证明你的发明是一项最新发明)。临时申请只是暂时的,为了为了保证其优先权日的有效性,澳大利亚或者国际专利申请必须在申请递交后的12个月内授权。


专利可以持续多久?

在一般情况下,从被授权日开始,澳大利亚标准专利拥有最长20年的期限。而针对澳大利亚创新专利来说,从完成全部申请被授权日开始拥有最长8年的期限。


我什么时候可以开始销售我的产品和/或开始寻找对其感兴趣的人?

如果临时专利申请已被授权,将会备注为“专利已授权”。一旦完整的申请完成,将会备注为 ‘专利审理中’’。只有当一个专利实际上已经被授予可在商品上表明“澳大利亚专利号XXXXXX”的标示,才证明专利被完整的授权了。这些术语是用来通知第三方进度的。严谨没有申请就使用这些术语,并处以罚款。


什么时候应该寻求专利保护?

重要的是调查的可能性专利保护当一个新产品,创建组合或过程,或当修改了产品或过程,将提供的制造商,产品或过程的用户对其竞争对手营销的优势。


如何在全球范围内获得专利?

一般来说,应用程序必须提交专利申请,专利授予和执行,在每个国家,你寻求专利保护的发明,依照法律规定的国家。一个澳大利亚专利只在澳大利亚提供保护。如果你想在其他国家申请专利,你通常有两个选择(i)每个国家文件单独的专利申请; or(ii)申请一个单独国际申请通过指代着什么专利合作(PCT) 大约140个国家,包括澳大利亚,成员。一个国际专利申请同样的效果作为国家申请PCT的国家。你可以选择继续在以后的140个国家中选择。你仍然需要满足国家需求和成本在每一个国家,但这可以推迟通过PCT过程多达18个月。


什么是宽限期?

一个宽限期允许公开披露的一项发明的发明者透露的情况下他们的发明申请专利之前,例如当他们已经讨论了它与承包商没有保密协议,不影响后续的专利申请的有效性。在澳大利亚,宽限期涵盖的时间不超过12个月的申请日期之前完成的应用程序。然而,重要的是,缺乏一个统一的宽限期或宽限期世界各地的需求意味着依赖宽限期的专利申请将在其他一些国家是无效的。


什么是专利代理人?

和建议关于专利和专利代理人提供表示相关的知识产权问题,如准备和申请发明专利申请,表示在专利局之前,侵犯专利异议和建议的关系。专利代理人有学位或其他资格的专利技术(传统上在科学或工程)加上进一步资格的法律和实践的知识产权。Section 200的专利法案1990(车车)提供了一个注册专利代理人和律师之间的通信端在知识产权问题上,和任何记录或文档为这样一个交流的目的,是特权在相同的程度上作为一个律师和他或她的客户端之间的通信。


什么是专利登记?

在法律意义上,没有专利注册这样的事情。 “专利申请”是为启动新想法的保护过程而提交的第一份文件。如果专利申请通过审查成功,那么我们说“专利被授予”。在美国,使用的等效术语是“专利已经发布”。通俗地说,许多人谈论专利注册,因为注册一词有效地适用于商标申请和注册外观设计申请的授予,但不应用于专利。 “专利注册”一词确实引起混淆,因为它表明申请专利只是填写表格的问题。而实际上,它涉及更多。


版权与专利之间的区别是什么?

商标代理人提供有关商标和相关知识产权事宜的代理和建议,例如商标搜索和意见,准备和提交商标申请,作为申请人代表代办商标申请相关事宜,商标异议和有关侵权的咨询。 “1995年联邦商标法”第229(1)条规定,注册商标代理人与客户之间就知识产权事宜进行的沟通,以及为此类通信目的而制作的任何记录或文件,享有与代理人与其客户之间的沟通程度相同的特权。专利和商标代理人均可为设计和相关知识产权事宜代表申请人和并提供建议,包括进行设计检索和分析结果,准备和提交外观设计申请,在外观设计局代办申请人处理事项,处理设计异议和就侵权提供咨询。


版权与专利之间的区别是什么?

版权涵盖所有二维艺术作品和一些三维艺术作品。然而,当使用三维艺术作品商业(如大规模生产)他们自动失去版权保护。为了有效地起诉一方谁在使用你的商业设计,你需要一个注册的设计。可以用来保护版权和注册设计函数概念(直接)这就是专利进来。专利是知识产权的一种类型,封装一个想法用文字和阻止第三方复制这个想法。通常并不是一种有效的版权保护计算机软件或网站应用这些新发展最受专利保护。总之,版权是用来保护艺术和文学作品,登记设计是用来保护的外观设计,使用商业和专利保护功能概念,或者简单地说,这样的工作。


获得专利的程序是什么?

更多信息可以看我们的专利程序流程图

Patent Attorney FAQs

What is the difference between patent attorneys and patent lawyers?

In Australia, there is often confusion in delineating whether one should consult a patent lawyer or a patent attorney about a patent matter.

A patent lawyer in NSW is a solicitor specialising in intellectual property rights, a professional who has successfully completed either the Board’s examinations (Diploma in Law), or a NSW accredited law degree and completed an accredited program of practical legal training. Patent lawyers typically work with Barristers in the litigation of patent rights.

A patent attorney is a professional who has 1. an engineering or science degree, 2. completed a group of topics prescribed by the Professional Standards Board relating to intellectual property rights, and 3. worked under the supervision of a patent attorney for the prescribed period. Patent attorneys are often described as part-engineer, part-lawyer and are typically involved in writing patent applications and in managing patent applications through to patent grant. Patent attorneys can also handle patent oppositions (a tribunal-type process for patent conflicts) before IP Australia.


What is a Patent?

A patent is an exclusive right or monopoly granted by the Commonwealth for an invention, which is a product or a process that provides, in general, a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. A patent provides an enforceable legal right to prevent others from exploiting an invention.


What kind of Protection does a Patent offer?

Patent protection means that the invention cannot be commercially made, used, distributed or sold without the patent owner’s consent. To stop infringement of a patent, the patent must normally be enforced in a court. Conversely, a court can also declare a patent invalid upon a successful challenge by a third party.


What is patentable?

For an invention to be patentable, it must satisfy certain criteria. For example, it must

  • be new (novel) when compared with public disclosures anywhere in the world, and
  • contain an inventive or innovative step when compared with what was known by the skilled person in the field.

The only present statutory exclusion from patentability in Australia is the patenting of human beings and the biological processes for their generation. Accordingly, a vast range of products and processes can be protected by patents, including pharmaceutical products, new materials, chemical processes and all manner of mechanicalelectrical and electronic devices.


What rights does a Patent Owner have?

A patent owner has the right to decide who may – or may not – use the patented invention for the period in which the invention is protected. The patent owner may give permission to, or license, other parties to use the invention on mutually agreed terms. The owner may also sell the right to the invention to someone else, who will then become the new owner of the patent. Once a patent expires, the protection ends, and an invention enters the public domain, that is, the owner no longer holds exclusive rights to the invention, which becomes available to commercial exploitation by others.


Is a confidentiality agreement necessary between a patent attorney and a client?

The Australian Patents Act provides that a communication between a registered patent attorney and the attorney’s client in intellectual property matters, and any record or document made for the purposes of such a communication, are privileged to the same extent as a communication between a solicitor and his or her client. That is, registered patent attorneys are under a strict obligation of confidentiality and a strict fiduciary requirement to use your information only to your benefit.


Who is entitled to apply for a patent?

Only the inventor or the person who has acquired the rights in the invention from the inventor can be granted a patent for that invention. If the invention was conceived and developed by the inventor as an employee, the rights to the invention may pass to the employer. If intellectual property is likely to be developed by employees, contractors or consultants in the course of their normal duties, it would be prudent to put a written agreement in place before the relevant work is done.


When should I file a patent application?

It is critically important to file a patent application before either publicly disclosing the details of the invention or conducting any commercial activities in respect of the invention. Any such actions will normally invalidate your right to pursue patent protection, although if such a situation arises, you should immediately consult your patent attorney.


How long will it take for a patent application to issue as a patent?

standard patent usually issues within a period of between two (2) to five (5) years from the date of filing of the complete application. However, the period can be shortened considerably if required. An innovation patent typically issues within a period of one (1) to three (3) months. Please note, however, an innovation patent must be certified before legal action can be taken against a potential infringer. Certification requires substantive examination of the innovation patent which may take up to six (6) months. Importantly, if during examination, the innovation patent is found to be invalid, it will be removed from the register.


What is a provisiona application?

A provisional application is used to establish a priority date for your invention (for the purposes of establishing that your invention is new). A provisional application is only temporary and an Australian or International patent application must be filed within 12 months of lodging the provisional application for your application to retain its priority date.


How long does a patent last?

In general, an Australian standard patent has a maximum term of 20 years, from the date of filing of the complete application, provided renewal fees are paid. An Australian innovation patent on the other hand, has a maximum term of 8 years from the date of filing of the complete application.


When can I begin selling a product and/or begin seeking interest from others?

If a provisional patent application has been filed for an invention, it is possible to use the term ‘patent application filed’. Once a complete application has been filed for the same invention it is possible to use the term ‘patent pending’. Only when a patent has actually been granted can a product be marked with ‘Australian Patent Number xxxxxx’. These terms are used to provide notice to third parties that a patent application has been filed in respect of an invention. Use of these symbols where no application has been made is prohibited and subject to fines.


When should patent protection be sought?

It is important to investigate the possibility of patent protection as soon as a new product, composition or process has been created, or when modifications have been made to a product or a process that will provide the manufacturer of that product or the user of that process with a marketing advantage over its competitors.


How can a patent be obtained worldwide?

In general, an application for a patent must be filed, and a patent shall be granted and enforced, in each country in which you seek patent protection for your invention, in accordance with the law of that country. An Australian patent provides protection only within Australia. If you want to apply for a patent in other countries, you generally have 2 choices: (i) file separate patent applications in each country; or (ii) file a single international application via what is referred to as the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) of which around 140 countries, including Australia, are members. A single international patent application has the same effect as national applications filed in the countries of the PCT. You can then choose to proceed in a selection of the 140 countries at a later date. You will still need to meet the national requirements and costs in each country, but this can be deferred by the PCT procedure by up to 18 months.


What is a grace period?

A grace period allows public disclosure of an invention in those circumstances where the inventor has disclosed their invention before applying for a patent, for example when they have discussed it with a contractor without a confidentiality agreement, without affecting the validity of a subsequent patent application. In Australia, the grace period covers a period of no more than 12 months before the filing date of the complete application. Importantly, however, the lack of a uniform grace period or grace period requirements around the world means that patent applications that rely on grace period will be invalid in some other countries.


What is a patent attorney?

A patent attorney provides representation and advice regarding patenting and related intellectual property matters, such as preparing and filing patent applications for inventions, representation in matters before the Patent Office, patent oppositions and advising in relation to infringement. A patent attorney has a degree or other qualification in a field of patentable technology (traditionally in science or engineering) coupled with further qualifications in the law and practice of intellectual property. Section 200 of the Patents Act 1990 (Cth) provides that a communication between a registered patent attorney and the attorney’s client in intellectual property matters, and any record or document made for the purposes of such a communication, are privileged to the same extent as a communication between a solicitor and his or her client.


What is a patent registration?

In a legal sense, there is no such thing as a patent registration. A ‘patent application’ is the first document filed to start the protection process for a new idea. If the patent application passes through examination successfully then we say ‘the patent is granted’. In the United States, the equivalent terminology used is that ‘the patent has issued’. Colloquially, many people talk about patent registration because the word registration validly applies to the granting of trade mark applications and registered design applications but it should not be used in respect of patents. The phrase ‘patent registration’ does cause confusion because it suggests that applying for a patent is merely a matter of filling in a form. It is of course, much more involved.


What is a trade mark attorney?

A trade marks attorney provides representation and advice regarding trade marks and related intellectual property matters, such as trade mark searching and opinions, preparing and filing trade mark applications, representation in matters before the Trade Marks Office, trade mark oppositions and advising in relation to infringement. Section 229(1) of the Trade Marks Act 1995 (Cth) provides that a communication between a registered trade marks attorney and the attorney’s client in intellectual property matters, and any record or document made for the purposes of such a communication, are privileged to the same extent as a communication between a solicitor and his or her client. Both patent and trade marks attorneys can provide representation and advice regarding designs and related intellectual property matters such as design searching and opinions, preparing and filing design applications, representation in matters before the Designs Office, design oppositions and advising in relation to infringement.


What is the difference between copyright and patents?

Copyright covers all 2-dimensional artistic works and some 3-dimensional artistic works. However, when 3-dimensional artistic works are used commercially (e.g. mass produced) they automatically lose copyright protection. In order to effectively prosecute a party who is using your commercial design, you need a registered design. Neither copyright nor registered designs can be used to protect functional concepts (directly) – this is where patents come in. A patent is a type of intellectual property right that encapsulates an idea in words and stops third parties from copying the idea. Copyright is not normally an effective form of protection for new developments in computer software or website applications – these are best protected by patents. In summary, copyright is used to protect artistic & literary works, registered designs are used to protect the look of designs that are being used commercially and patents protect function concepts, or put simply, the way things work.


What is the process for obtaining a patent?

For more information see our patent process flowcharts.