专利创新

什么是创新专利?

Innovation-Patents

创新专利是澳大利亚的一种第二级别的专利保护形式,主要用于保护渐进式创新。然而,创新专利现已成为一种有用的战略性诉讼工具。

创新专利申请的好处

递交创新专利申请有三大好处:

  1. 价格相对便宜,
  2. 授权很快,
  3. 相对而言,第三方难以让其授权被撤销。

创新专利的两个缺点在于它仅可持续八年,而且可能不能包括五项以上的专利要求。

我能获得我的产品的创新专利吗?

如果相对于现有技术来说,您的产品具备新的特点。这种新特点可以是显而易见的,但是必须对该产品的功能产生影响。现有技术包括全球所有专利和公布的专利申请,以及其他所有公开的信息。

获取和行使澳大利亚创新专利权的过程是什么?

一旦递交了创新专利申请,就要通过实质性审查。在递交创新专利申请的三个月之内,我们将会收到获批通知或者实质性审查报告。

为了获得一个可执行的创新专利权,必须向澳大利亚知识产权局提出对所授予的创新专利的认证申请–可以在被授予创新专利权后的任何时候提出该认证请求。然后,澳大利亚知识产权局会对该创新专利进行实质性审查,以确定该创新专利是否是新的并且包括相对于现有技术的创新的一步。任何人(不仅仅是创新专利所有者)可以在专利获准期间的任何时候申请对创新专利进行认证。

如果创新专利成功通过审查,那么它将会得到认证。经过认证的创新专利可以在澳大利亚联邦法院用于阻止第三方对于创新专利的侵权行为。然而,大多数的纠纷可达成庭外和解。应当指出的是,认证过程并不能推定该创新专利有效。

在专利有效期间,需要每年支付更新费用,有效期可长达8年。

以下的流程图可以说明在澳大利亚获取创新专利所包含的步骤。

Innovation Patent Procedure

创新专利策略

创新专利体系的战略性作用多种多样。以下是我们的客户在不同时期采用的一些策略:

  1. 创新专利可以专门用于针对涉嫌对某个已授予标准专利的侵权行为。这是通过在相关技术的标准专利申请过程中递交分案创新专利的申请来实现的。分案创新专利和标准专利申请将具有相同的优先权日期,因此能够使得侵权者的行为被发现。创新专利的权利要求书要详细书写,以确保能够覆盖尽可能多的侵权行为。
  2. 可以因为标准专利即将到期而递交创新专利的申请,在这种情况下,创新专利和该发明的标准专利只有略微不同,但是不同之处在于拥有创新的一步。通过这种方式可能可以有效地将某项发明的专利保护期延长到超过最初的20年期限,这一过程被称为专利常青化。
  3. 通过递交一系列围绕着竞争者某个产品的创新专利,就能相对容易并且经济有效地围绕这一产品形成一个专利丛林,这样就使得竞争者越来越难以维持自由操纵权,并且使其这样做的成本也越来越高。
  4. 第二种策略的另一种形式是递交多个分案创新专利,通过标准专利申请来要求优先权,每一个分案创新专利针对的是对该发明所做出的小改变。这使得对该发明提出异议的过程更困难并且昂贵,因为这样一来,提出的异议必须必须质询每一个创新专利以及标准专利。这样的专利丛林对于专利申请来说也很有用,因为它会给潜在的竞争对手带来大量的不确定性,因为如果他们决定进入与这些专利相关的市场,他们不确定有没有可能会侵犯某项或者多项专利权。

Baxter IP > Services > How to Patent? > Innovation Patents

Innovation Patent Australia

What is an innovation patent?

An Innovation patent is a second tier form of patent protection in Australia primarily developed for use in protecting incremental innovation. However, innovation patents have now become a useful and strategic litigation tool.

Benefits of innovation patents

There are three main benefits to filing an innovation patent application:

  1. It is relatively inexpensive,
  2. It is granted quickly, and
  3. It is relatively difficult for a third party to have it revoked.

Two disadvantages of an innovation patent are that it only lasts 8 years and it may not include more than five claims.

Can I get an innovation patent on my product?

Yes – if your product has a feature that is new when compared with the prior art. That new feature can be obvious but must make a difference to the functionality of the product. The prior art includes all patents and published patent applications worldwide and all other publicly available information.

What is the process for obtaining and enforcing an Australian innovation patent?

Once filed, an innovation patent application will pass through a formalities examination. Your patent attorney will receive notification of grant or a formalities report within three months of filing the innovation patent application.

To obtain an enforceable Innovation patent right, a Request for Certification of the granted Innovation Patent must be filed with IP Australia – this can be done at any time after the Innovation Patent has been granted. IP Australia will then conduct a substantive examination of the Innovation Patent to determine whether the Innovation Patent is new and includes an innovative step over the prior art. Anyone (not just the owner of the Innovation Patent) can request certification of the Innovation Patent at any time during the term of grant.

If the Innovation Patent is successful during examination, it will be certified. A certified Innovation Patent can be used to stop infringement of the innovation by third parties in the Australian Federal Court. However, most disputes are settled out of court. It should be noted that certification is not a presumption that the innovation patent is valid.

Annual renewal fees are payable throughout the life of the patent, which is up to 8 years.

The flowchart below illustrates the steps involved in obtaining an innovation patent in Australia.

Innovation Patent Procedure Overview

Click to zoom in


Innovation patent strategy

There are a variety of strategic uses for the innovation patent system. Here are some strategies that have been adopted by our clients at various times:

  1. An innovation patent can be used to specifically target an alleged infringer of a granted standard patent. This is achieved by filing a divisional innovation patent of the standard patent application. The divisional innovation patent will have the same priority date as the standard patent application and thus will enable the infringer’s activities to be captured. The claims of the innovation patent are specifically drafted by your patent attorney to ensure the maximum overlap with the infringer’s product or process.
  2. An innovation patent may be filed as a standard patent is about to expire where the innovation patent differs only marginally from that of the invention of the standard patent, but where the difference possesses an innovative step. In this manner, it is possible to effectively extend patent protection for an invention beyond the initial 20 year term in a process known as evergreening.
  3. By filing a series of innovation patents surrounding a product of a competitor, it is relatively easy and cost-effective to form a patent thicket around the product which subsequently makes it increasingly difficult and costly for the competitor to maintain freedom-to-operate.
  4. A variant on 2. is the filing of multiple divisional innovation patents claiming priority from a standard patent application, each for a minor variant of the invention. This makes opposing the invention a difficult and costly process as the opponent must then challenge each of the innovation patents, as well as the standard patent. Such a patent thicket is also very useful for an application as it creates a great deal of uncertainty for potential competitors as to whether they are likely to infringe one or more of the patents if they decide to enter the sector of the market to which the patents relate.


Sydney Office

Suite 2, Level 3A
1 Bligh St
Sydney NSW 2000
+61 2 9264 6716

Melbourne Office

Suite 803, Level 8
488 Bourke St
Melbourne VIC 3000
+61 3 9602 2288

Brisbane Office

Level 10
239 George St
Brisbane QLD 4000
+61 7 3188 5624

Baxter IP Patent Attorneys is a member of


© 2017 Baxter IP Patent Attorneys Sydney






Top